The AFMLTA hosts a biennial international conference for teachers of languages.
This event regularly sees international, national and local speakers present on topics relevant to teachers of languages at all levels.

AFMLTA Conference

23rd AFMLTA International Languages Conference

Date: 5 - 6 July 2021

Online event via Zoom across 2 full days

Queries? Email: [email protected]

Conference Presentations

Thank you to the following presenters who have kindly shared their conference presentations:

Martin Westwell, Shaping Education so Students Thrive

Ken Cruickshank, Aligning Community Languages

Karen Ashton, Understanding diversity in secondary school language classrooms

Colleen Barclay, Incorporating Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Histories & Cultures in Languages and resource

Sarah Burrows, Staying connected through Online Exchange

Hingor Chung, Approaching diversity through differentiation

Amy Collins, Innovation in assessment: engagement, feedback and documentation

Gillian Cordy & Amanda Pentti, Updated AFMLTA Professional Standards: Development and Application

Celinda Corsini, Inquiry Based Learning: A Change Management Experience

Marc Favre, Teacher’s role in improving participation in Language learning

Marnie Foster, Facilitating greater student choice and autonomy in language learning

Nathan Harvey, Teachers as Resources – further advancing ourselves and the profession

Jia-QI Jin, Enhancing language learning using ICT

Nathan Lane, Developing viewing skills in building intercultural competence

Claire Leong, Developing Intercultural understanding

Ellen Moffatt, The virtues of Rubric-Writing: High-Impact Assessment and Clinical Rubrics

Fusae Nojima, Assessment for learning in language education

Gwenaelle Peyret, Developing a cross-cultural approach in a French-Australian school

Kate Reitzenstein & Marisa Schiavi, Developing global citizenship through Intercultural Language Teaching and Learning

Tanya Siebert, CLIL in the Languages Classroom using Kinder and Junior Uni

Melissa Wickins, Programming, planning and assessing in the early years


Any queries, please email [email protected]

Keynote speakers

Janice Aubry - Former President of the Canadian Association of Second Language Teachers, Director of the Institute for Innovation in Second Language Education and the Director of Curriculum at Edmonton Public Schools, Canada

David de Carvalho - Chief Executive Officer, ACARA

Professor Ken Cruickshank - University of Sydney -

Professor Anne-Marie Morgan - James Cook University

Professor Martin Westwell - Chief Executive, SACE Board

Dr Sam Obsorne - Senior Lecturer Uni SA Education Futures

Presenter link to access Easy Chair account

Registration Rates

  • Member Rate: 2 days

  • Member Rate: 1 day

  • Non-member Rate: 2 days

  • Non-member Rate: 1 day

  • Student Rate: 2 days


*Member rates are open to members of:

Conference partners

We value and support our Premiere Conference Partners Lingopont and The European Delegation to Australia and our trade supporters ACER, ELLA, Education Perfect and the Modern Language Institute at the University of Queensland.
Conference delegates are encouraged to engage with these sponsors through the conference and to access more information by the hyperlinked logos below.

Please contact us if you would like to be a sponsor of our 23rd AFMLTA International Language Conference.
To purchase your sponsor package click here.

Keith Horwood Memorial Lecture

The AFMLTA International Languages Conference includes the Keith Horwood Memorial Lecture as a key element to its program. The Keith Horwood Memorial Lecturer is an invited speaker who is an eminent person currently engaged in the field of languages education in Australia and is an Australian resident.
Keith Horwood was the foundational Organising Secretary of the AFMLTA Inc. With the support of the Horwood family, the National Assembly unanimously endorsed the introduction of the Keith Horwood Memorial Lecture as a fitting perpetual tribute to the memory of one of its earliest supporters. The lecture was inaugurated at the 2001 National Conference, held in Canberra.

For further information on the Keith Horwood Memorial Lecture, including previous invited Lecturers and about Keith Horwood, click here.

Premiere Conference Partner


Valued Trade Supporters


Valued Trade Supporters

Education Perfect