The Australian Federation of Modern Language Teachers Associations (AFMLTA), as the peak body for Languages educators in Australia, is committed to recognising and encouraging outstanding contributions to the field of Languages education and so encourages state and territory Language Teachers’ Associations to nominate members for the following awards:

AFMLTA Medal for Outstanding Service to Language Teaching

2022 Nomination Process

Please read the criteria for each of the awards carefully before making a submission. We also recommend a review of the previous award recipients listed below.

AFMLTA Medal for Outstanding Service to Language Teaching

This award is made in recognition of exceptional and outstanding contributions to language teaching in Australia over an extended period. An exceptional and outstanding contribution is to be regarded as one that has significantly influenced the pattern and/or quality of language teaching and learning in Australia in some beneficial way.

Previous Recipients of Medal for Outstanding Service to Language Teaching

  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2013

Michael Clyne (posthumously)

  • 2011
Lia Tedesco
  • 2011
Joseph LoBianco
  • 2008
David Vale
  • 2005
Angela Scarino
  • 1999
Denis Cunningham
  • 1994
David Ingram
  • 1992
Manuel Gelman (1st President AFMLTA)

AFMLTA Certificate of Merit

This award is made in recognition of dedicated and effective contribution to the work of the AFMLTA over an extended period. The recipient will be or will have been a member of an affiliated MLTA/LTA or have actively contributed to the work of the AFMLTA Inc over an extended period.

Previous Recipients of AFMLTA Certificate of Merit

  • 2018
Joe van Dalen
  • 2018
Kylie Farmer
  • 2016
Melissa Gould-Drakeley
  • 2015
Fulvia Valvasori
  • 2015
Greg Dabelstein
  • 2012
Helen Best
  • 2012
Peter Voss
  • 1997
Barry Muir

FIPLV International Award

The AFMLTA is able to nominate a representative for the FIPLV International Award. The FIPLV International Award, an initiative of the FIPLV Executive committee, is FIPLV’s highest distinction, in addition to the title of Honorary FIPLV Counsellor, which is reserved for (former) members of the FIPLV executive, The FIPLV International Award can be awarded to FIPLV members who distinguish or have distinguished themselves by being exceptionally active, innovative, valuable, talented, in one or more fields of language learning and language teaching (as detailed in the FIPLV documents).

The FIPLV International Award consists of a certificate of honour, a file containing FIPLV documentation and publication in the FIPLV World News of the candidate’s citation with a picture and with congratulations by the FIPLV Executive Committee.

Previous Australian Recipients of FIPLV International Award

  • 2019
John Hajek – nominated by AFMLTA (read the citation here)
  • 2016
Joseph Lo Bianco – nominated by AFMLTA (read the citation here)
  • 2006
Angela Scarino – nominated by MLTASA
  • 2005
Marjory Ellsmore – nominated by MLTANSW
  • 2004
Margaret Gearon – nominated by MLTAV